2014 Walk: Hastings town centre

Thursday 11 June 10:30 AM to 5:00 PM

Price for single attendee: £50.00

Led by Alan Jeffries, a member of Hastings Local History Society. Hastings, a town forever linked to the Battle which didn’t take place there, has had a rollercoaster ride throughout the ages. Originally a prominent Anglo-Saxon town and one of King Alfred’s burghs, it was one of the most important Cinque ports in the South East. After catastrophic events in the 13th century it remained a sleepy fishing but active smuggling village until the start of a tourist trade in the late 1700s. The town expanded considerably in the Victorian era as people and money arrived with the railways in 1851. As tourism declined in the 1960s the town decayed but this probably saved many of the buildings from redevelopment. Today the town is still one of the most deprived in the South East yet retains its history with many of the buildings remaining to prove it. We will explore many of these in the Victorian town centre with particular attention being paid to the United Reformed Church (1885), and Holy Trinity (1858), and St Mary in the Castle (1828) churches. We will also take a trip up the country’s steepest funicular railway (1910) to give ourselves views across the fishing quarter and Old Town. Meet at Hastings railway station. The train to London in the current timetable departs at 17.21 but please check the times nearer the date of the event. £50. Booking required.*


Event code: 2014

Please log in to book